40 Players in Golden Boy 2019 shortlist announced

By September 26, 2019

5/5 - (2 votes)
Mason Mount

The final shortlist of 40 young players nominated for the prestigious Golden Ball award has been announced.

The Golden Boy award is an individual award given by sports journalists to a young footballer who plays in Europe and is judged to have been the most impressive young players during a football calendar year. All nominees of the Golden Boy award must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top football clubs.

This year’s edition of the Golden Boy award sees a lot of new talented youngsters nominated.  However, only one player will be given the 2019 award later this year in December.

Young Chelsea attacking midfielder Mason Mount leads the list of six out of the  40 nominees who play in the English Premier League.

Mount is joined alongside two Arsenal players Reiss Nelson and Matteo Guendouzi. Other Premier League players in the list include Watford’s Tom Dele-Bashiru, Everton’s center-forward Moise Kean and Manchester City teenager Phil Foden.

Exciting young players in the Spanish League such as Nigeria forward Samuel Chukwueze, Real Madrid wingers, Rodrygo Goes, and Vinicius Junior also made the list. Other top young players from the Spanish League include Jean-Clair Todibo Barcelona, Diego Lainez, KangIn Lee, Ferran Torres, and hot favorite Joao Felix.

They are many strong favorites in the list who are pegged to scoop the award. Although Atletico Madrid’s Joao Felix is a strong favourite to win the award, the Portugal star will face strong competition from last year’s award winner Matthijs de Ligt.

Borussia Dortmund and England forward Jadon Sancho who has been in terrific form is also favored to win the award.

The full list of nominees for the 2019 Golden Boy award are as follows:

Donyell Malen (PSV)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Nehuen Perez (Famalicao)

Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)

Abdulkadir Omur (Trabzonspor)

Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade)

Rafael Leao (AC Milan)

Rodrygo  Goes (Real Madrid)

Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)

Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord)

Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona)

Ferran Torres (Valencia)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)

Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad)

Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)

Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Moise Kean (Everton)

Justin Kluivert (Roma)

Benoit Badiashile (Monaco)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal)

Michael Cuisance (Bayern Munich)

Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)

Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford)

Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)

Krepin Diatta (Club Bruges)

Eljif Elmas (Napoli)

Florentino Luis (Benfica)

Phil Foden (Man City)

Matteo Guendouzi (Arsenal)

Erling Braut Haaland (RB Salzburg)

Ibrahima Konate (RB Leipzig)

Alban Lafont (Nantes)

Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)

Diego Lainez (Real Betis)

Kang-In Lee (Valencia)

Andrij Lunin (Real Sociedad

Also Read:

5 Things to Know about Norwich City star Teemu Pukki

Zidane frustrated with Real Madrid’s growing injury list

Neil Lennon to rest key players against Partick Thistle

This article is brought to us by our Sports Writers Club resident columnist – Collins Michael Nwokolo. Follow him on Twitter and Pinterest.