Diogo Dalot

The FIFA U-20 World Cup, also known as the FIFA World Youth Championship is the biennial football competition youths aged 20 and below.

The competition which began in 1977 has produced many top footballers. This year will mark the 22nd edition of the FIFA under-20 tournament. The youth tournament will take place from 23 May to 15 June 2019.

Here’s all you need to about the 2019 World Youth Championship.

Who will host the 2019 FIFA U-20 Works Cup?

Poland will be hosting this year’s edition of the World Youth Championship. Poland won the bid to host the tournament ahead of India in March 2018. This will mark the first time for Poland to host the tournament. The entire tournament will take place in six venues in six cities of Poland.

The Qualified teams

The following teams qualified for the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup:

ASIA: Japan, Korea Republic, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia.                     

AFRICA: Senegal, South Africa, Nigeria and Mali

EUROPE: Poland (hosts), Ukraine, France, Italy, Norway, and Portugal.

NORTH AMERICA: United States of America, Mexico Panama, and Honduras.

OCEANIA: New Zealand and hosts Tahiti.

SOUTH AMERICA: Argentina, Ecuador, Uruguay, and Colombia.

Who are the defending champions?

England is the defending champion after they won the 2017 tournament in South Korea. However, England did not qualify, hence will not be able to defend their title.

The FIFA Under 20 World Cup will also make use of the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) for the first time since the tournament’s history.

Stars to watch out for in the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup

1. Diogo Dalot (Italy & Manchester United)

2. Timothy Weah (USA & Paris St. Germain)

3. Lee Kang-in (South Korea & Valencia CF)

4. Rafael Leão (Portugal & Lille)

5. Amine Gouiri (France & Olympique Lyon)

6. Andriy Lunin (Ukraine & Real Madrid)

7. Erling Braut Håland (Norway & Red Bull Salzburg)

8. Tom Dele-Bashiru (Nigeria & Manchester City)

9. Diego Lainez (Mexico & Real Betis)

10. Nicolás Schiappacasse (Uruguay & Athletico Madrid)

Also Read:

Top 10 Hottest Transfer Targets of the Summer 2019

8 Intriguing Statistics as Manchester City Retain Premier League Title

Liverpool will likely start their dominance by winning the EUFA Champions League

This article is brought to us by our Sports Writers Club resident columnist – Collins Michael Nwokolo. Follow him on Twitter and Pinterest.