The 46th edition of South American biggest football competition dubbed as the Copa AmericaJuan Antonio Pizzi will see Brazil host the competition for the fifth time in its 103 years history, featuring 10 South America team and 2 surprise addition from Asia which consist of Japan and Qatar.

The competition is set to take place on June 14 and will run for three weeks until the final day on July 7, with the group games schedule possibly to end on June 24 and there will be a three-day break before the knock-out phase are played from June 27.

Copa America is South America’s biggest football competition where only CONMEBOL teams take part, just as Africa and Europe have its continental football competition. Thus, this year’s COPA AMERICA’s edition was to be hosted by Chile but it was handed over to Brazil because of an agreement which was endorsed by CONMEBOL governing body.

Since the inception of COPA AMERICA in 1916, only eight teams have won the prestigious titles, Uruguay comes tops as the most successful team by winning the COPA AMERICA titles, Argentina comes second with 14 trophies while Brazil has 8 titles. Chile, Paraguay and Peru won the covetous trophy twice while Bolivia and Colombia having one apiece.

The 2016 centennial edition of COPA AMERICA, Juan Antonio Pizzi led side (Chile) crushed Argentina in the final by penalty shoot-out which was a terrible final for Messi and his cohorts since they were tag as the competition’s favourite. Although La Albiceleste beats Chile in the group stage but football-ill luck repeats the sad tale of 2015 final.

This year’s edition will be played according to round-robin formation, where 12 teams will be separated into three groups consisting of 4 teams in each group. Each group will play three matches against others, and toward the end of the group stage, the first and second team from each group alongside two best 3rd-placed team will qualify for the next round automatically.

In spite of the fact that COPA AMERICA is played once every four years since the start of the competition, it will now be played every three years. Though the last edition was a commemoration of COPA AMERICA centenary anniversary, which was facilitated in the United States where a total of 16 teams had contended. Both CONMEBOL and CONCACAF organized that centennial anniversary of the competition. Along these lines, the next edition will be put in the normal time.

The COPA AMERICA, unlike any other competition, is a standout amongst the most renowned football competition which is as of now considered the world’s third biggest competition, as well as South America football is concerned. It is also among the most viewed sporting event in Latin America.

As the city of Brazil host the competition the football event will be televise all through the world, with some satellite-TV’s having confirmed to air the 3rd largest football event.

Telemundo has the Spanish rights to Copa America and will air every of the 26 matches live over its broadcast, satellite cables and every other available channel.

In Australia Network 10 have the broadcasting rights, Rede Globo in Brazil, Caracol TV in Colombia, TV Tokyo in Japan, Televisa and TV Azteca holds the right in Mexico, BT Sports will be the official broadcast partner in the United Kingdom while IRIB holds Iran firmly.

2019 Copa America Qualified Teams

Argentina CONMEBOL
Venezuela CONMEBOL
Japan AFC
Qatar AFC

Brazil (H) 
Group A

  • Peru
  • Venezuela
  • Bolivia

Group B

  • Uruguay
  • Chile
  • Paraguay
  • Qatar

Group C

  • Argentina
  • Colombia
  • Japan
  • Ecuador

This article is brought to us by our newest member of the Sports Writers Club – Muyiwa Wesley. Muyiwa Wesley is a freelance football writer with a passion for football. He is a Football blogging extraordinaire with a love for the beautiful game. You can reach him at