US National Team
Photo Credit:

All the major soccer countries of North America will clash this summer for the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

This will be the 15th edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup. The biennial football championship will feature countries from North, Central American, and the Caribbean regions.

The prestigious continental competition, which is organized and regulated by the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), will be expanded from 12 to 16 teams for the first time ever. The tournament is expected to run from 15th of June to the 7th of July.

Here’s your guide to the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Host Countries

The main host of the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup is the United States of America. However, both Costa Rica and Jamaica will be hosting doubleheaders in the first round of matches in groups B and C, respectively.

Qualified Teams

The 16 teams that qualified for the 2019 Gold Cup are:


Costa Rica



United States of America

Trinidad and Tobago










El Salvador.

Two teams will be playing in the Gold Cup for the first time this year. There are Bermuda and Guyana, who will both be making their debuts in the Gold Cup.

Defending Champions

The United States are defending champions, after beating Jamaica 2-1 in the 2017 Gold Cup final, two years ago.


The Video Assistant Referee (VAR) was introduced to international football a few years ago and has become very popular. A lot of soccer tournaments that will take place this year will introduce the use of VAR, like the 2019 African Cup of Nations and 2019 Copa America. However, VAR will not be used at the CONCACAF 2019 Gold Cup.


The 2019 Gold Cup will be played across 15 Venues in the United States. Soldier Field in Chicago will be the venue of the final. Some matches will also be played at the Independence Park in Kingston, Jamaica, and the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica in San José, Costa Rica.

Also Read:

3 things we learned from the 2019 Champions League Finals

How Madrid Could Line Up with Eden Hazard Next Season

All You Need to Know About The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations

This article is brought to us by our Sports Writers Club resident columnist – Collins Michael Nwokolo. Follow him on Twitter and Pinterest.