Lionel Messi was shortlisted alongside two others for the 2019 FIFA Puskas Award.

The 2019 FIFA Puskas Award has been reduced from 10 nominees to the final three. The players who made the final cut are:

Lionel Messi Barcelona

• Barcelona and Argentinian Superstar, Lionel Messi.

 • Colombian midfielder, Juan Quintero.

 • Debrecen FC’s Daniel Zsori.

The three players all stand a chance of winning the grand award for the ‘most beautiful’ goal of last football season.

The winner of the 2019 FIFA Puskas Award will not be announced till 23 of September at the 2019 FIFA gala in Milan.

The FIFA Puskás Award, named after the Hungarian legend, Ferenc Puskás. The award is presented to the player who with the most spectacular goal scored in the matches of the football season. Some notable players who have won the Puskas Award include Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar, while Premier League players like Olivier Giroud and Mohamed Salah won the trophy in the years 2017 and 2018, respectively.

Here are the profiles of the three final goals nominated for the 2019 FIFA Puskas Award.

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Lionel Messi, earn his ninth nomination for the award since 2009, although, he has not yet won the award. The mercurial forward scored his award-nominated Puskas entry in a La Liga match between Barcelona and Real Betis. He started and finished the move that saw the ball end up into the far corner of the net.

The Argentine received the ball from Rakitić and struck the ball with a delicious and measured chip. The goal was what anyone would describe as absolutely majestic and grand.

2. Daniel Zsori (Debrecen FC)

Daniel Zsori’s scored an overhead kick for Hungarian side Debrecen against local rivals Ferencvaros, to earn him a nomination. When the cross was whipped, Zsori showed quick thinking at that moment when tightly marked by two defenders.

The goal, although improvised, can be described as magical and breathtaking.

3. Juan Quintero (River Plate)

Juan Quintero displayed sublime technique, audacity, confidence, and skill to score from a freekick that was far out wide. Juan Quintero’s amazing goal for River Plate came against Racing Club in Argentina.

An online fan vote was done to determine the final three nominees; however, a panel of FIFA Legends will now decide who the winner will be.

This article is brought to us by our Sports Writers Club resident columnist – Collins Michael Nwokolo. Follow him on Twitter and Pinterest.

Also Read:

Why Barcelona Not Signing Neymar is A Good Thing

5 Greatest Players to Play for Arsenal

Full 2019 Copa America Quarterfinals Fixtures Announced